About Tromsø Geophysical Observatory

The Auroral Observatory orginally was a section of the Norwegian Institute of Cosmical Physics (NIKF) established in 1928.
NIKF was merged with the University of Tromsø in 1972 and form the basis for the present Department of Physics and Technology at the University.

However, the designation 'Auroral Observatory' was kept for a small special group within the Department of Physics. This group was to continue the longterm geophysical observations of aurorae, magnetic field, and ionosphere inherited from NIKF. 

Effective 1. January 2000 this group was separated from the Department of Physics and established as a unit directly under the Faculty of Science and Mathematics given the name 'Tromsø Geophysical Observatory' (TGO)

The primary activity of TGO is geomagnetic observations. In addition we are still running an ionosonde (in cooperation with QinetiQ, UK), and a few guest instruments are hosted.

'The Auroral Observatory' is still retained as the name of the premises of the Department of Physics and TGO. 

The staff as of 1. January 2014 is:

Chris Hall Chris Hall
Scientist and head of the group.

Telephone: +47 776 45222
E-mail: chris.hall@uit.no

Magnar Gullikstad Johnsen

Telephone: +47 776 46956 
E-mail: magnar.g.johnsen@uit.no

Børre Heitmann Holmeslet,
Senior engineer 

Programming, dataprocessing and data distribution. 
Telephone: +47 776 45148 
E-mail: borre.holmeslet@uit.no
private page

Bjørn Ove Husøy,
Senior engineer

Construction of instruments, maintenance. 
Telephone: +47 776 45160 
E-mail: bjorn-ove.husoy@uit.no

Bjørnar Hansen,

Data processing, operation of guest instruments, maintenance 
Telephone: +47 776 45138 
E-mail: bjornar.hansen@uit.no

Inge Edvardsen
Employed by Baker Hughes Norge AS.

Telephone: +47 776 45665
E-mail: inge.edvardsen@bakerhughes.com

Telephone: +47 776 44000
Telefax :  +47 776 45580
Address: Tromsø Geophysical Observatory
Faculty of Science and Technology
University of Tromsø
N-9037 Tromsø

Responsible Editor: Chris Hall
Web & Programming: Børre Heitmann Holmeslet
Last page update 1.Sep.2014